About this jurisdiction

nAnguilla is an island country located in the Caribbean Sea. Anguilla has a population of about 11,000 people. The official name of the country is Anguilla. The country’s capital is the city of Bay Street. nAnguilla was once a part of the British Empire. The first Europeans to land on the island were the Spaniards. England acquired the island from Spain in 1674. The British colony of Anguilla became a Crown Colony in 1917.nAnguILLA gained independence from Britain in 1962 and became a republic in 1976.nThe official language of Anguilla is English, but French is also spoken by a small minority of residents.