Falkland Islands

About this jurisdiction

nThe Falkland Islands are an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean, about 600 miles east of Argentina. The name "Falkland" is derived from the Portuguese "Falco Landos", meaning "Falcon Land". The islands were first sighted by Portuguese navigator Diogo Cão in 1500. They were claimed by Spain in 1764 but were not formally acquired until 1820. In 1833, the British established a protectorate over the islands, which became a colony in 1902. Argentina claimed the islands in 1982 and waged a long-running military campaign against the British until the islands were occupied by Britain in 1982. The population is largely composed of British citizens (75%), with around 15% of residents possessing Argentine citizenship.n