About this jurisdiction

Jersey is an island in the English Channel, about two-thirds of which is part of the French Republic. The rest of the island is divided between England and Normandy. Jersey is made up of Cotentin Peninsula, which extends into the English Channel, and the smaller islands of Herm and Guernsey. The capital, Saint Helier, is on the island's southern coast. The population of Jersey was estimated at just over 30,000 in 2009.nJersey's geography has made it a strategic location throughout history. The island was settled by Celts in the 4th century BC and was known as Jérusalem by the Romans. In 1284, it passed to the Duchy of Normandy, and in 1433 it was ceded to King Henry VI of England. From 1533 to 1664, Jersey was a parliamentary democracy under religious toleration laws that were unique in Europe at the time. The island became a British crown colony in 1803.nThe economy has been driven largely by tourism since Jersey became a tax-free jurisdiction in 1936. The government also derives some revenue from its offshore financial center, which houses approximately 280 companies with assets worth €100 billion ($130 billion