Sint Maarten

About this jurisdiction

Sint Maarten is a country located in the Caribbean Sea. It is made up of two islands, St. Martin and St. Bartholomew, as well as a number of smaller islets. The capital of the country is Philipsburg.nnThe first settlers arrived in Sint Maarten around 100 AD, but it wasn't until 1535 that the first European settlement was constructed on the island of St. Martin. It was initially used as a sugar plantation, and remained so until 1802 when slavery was abolished throughout the Caribbean. In 2005, Sint Maarten became an independent country within the Kingdom of The Netherlands.