About this jurisdiction

The Republic of Togo is a country located in West Africa. It is bordered by the countries of Benin to the north, Ghana to the east, Burkina Faso to the south and Ivory Coast to the west. The capital and largest city is Lomé. The country's population is estimated at just over six million, making it one of the least populous countries in the world.nn The official language of Togo is French, although there are also substantial populations of Ewe, Fon and Vodoun speakers. Togo was formerly part of the French colony of Dahomey and became independent in 1960. It has a strong economy based on agriculture, minerals, fishing and tourism and has been largely stable since the 1990s.