About this jurisdiction

The Comoros is an archipelago country in the Indian Ocean. The country has an area of about 1,600 square kilometers, with a population of just over 900,000 people. The islands are divided among 11 administrative regions. The capital is Moroni. A French-speaking people, the Comorans have a history that dates back more than 2,000 years. In the 1890s, the islands came under German control and were integrated into the Afrika Korps during World War II. Following World War II, the Comoros became a member of the French Union and attained full independence in 1975.