Equatorial Guinea

About this jurisdiction

Equatorial Guinea is a small country located in central Africa. With a population of over 1.3 million, the country is a splinter state off the west coast of continental Africa. The country is bordered by Gabon to the north and east, Cameroon on the south, and the Republic of Congo to the west. The country has an area of 10,000 square kilometers, making it one of Africa's smallest countries by area. Equatorial Guinea has been ruled by different families since colonization began in the 16th century. In 1968, Spain ceded control of the country to its new colony, Spain. The country became an independent republic in 1974. In 1979, a military coup led by Colonel Francisco Macias Nguema Mbasogo overthrew president Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo and replaced him with his son Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo II. Denis Sassou-Nguesso, President of Congo-Brazzaville was also present at this coup. Macias Nguema Mbasogo was re-elected president in 1980 but was later arrested and executed in 1984 following a popular uprising against his rule. In 1991, another military coup led by Lieutenant Colonel

Legal basis