About this jurisdiction

Mozambique is a country located in Africa. The country's name means "peaceful land". The country is bordered by the Republic of South Africa to the south and southwest, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north and northeast, and Tanzania to the east. Mozambique is divided into 22 provinces. The capital city is Maputo. The population is over 17 million people. The official language is Portuguese. Mozambican culture is African with Portuguese influences. There are evangelical Christians, Muslims, Hindus, and Animists present in Mozambique. The economy is based on agriculture, industry, and services.

Legal basis