About this jurisdiction

Myanmar is one of the countries in South-east Asia. It is situated on the eastern coast of the Bay of Bengal and it has a total area of 58,543 sq km. The country is divided into seven states: Shan, Kayah, Mon, Rakhine, Karenni and Chin. The capital city is Naypyidaw. Myanmar has a population of around 51 million people. The official languages are Burmese and English.nThe economy of Myanmar is based mainly on agriculture and coal mining. The country has large mineral reserves, including tin, iron ore, silver, lead and gold. Despite this progress, poverty remains a problem in Myanmar. One reason for this is the fact that the government does not provide enough support to the large population of subsistence farmers. Another issue is corruption. In recent years, the country has been hit by a number of natural disasters, including Cyclone Nargis in 2008 and the floods in 2013.nDespite these challenges, Myanmar continues to make progress towards democracy and human rights. The government has begun to implement gradual change and has passed several important laws such as the Freedom of Information Act and the Anti-Corruption Law. However, there