The Gambia

About this jurisdiction

The Gambia is a small West African country on the river Gambia. It borders Senegal to the north, Senegal and The Saint Lawrence River to the east, Sierra Leone to the south, and Ghana to the west. Its total land area is just over 8,000 square kilometers. The Gambia's population comprises around 1 million people, of which around 80% are Muslim. The country is divided into three regions: Western, Central, and Eastern. The Western Region includes the capital Banjul and is home to around 60% of the population. The Central Region includes smaller towns and rural areas and accounts for 30% of the population. Eastern Region is more sparsely populated and makes up 10% of Gambia's total population. The economy of The Gambia is based largely on subsistence agriculture and fishing. Tourism is also an important source of income, with people visiting Banjul for its colonial architecture and cultural festivals. This small country has a long history dating back to pre-colonial times, when it was ruled by successive kings from the Mandingo dynasty. In 1965, after a long struggle for independence, The Gambia became a republic and adopted a new constitution that granted limited self-government to the people.