About this jurisdiction

Tanzania is a landlocked country in East Africa. It covers an area of 150,000 square kilometers and has a population of approximately 27 million people. The capital and largest city is Dar es Salaam. Tanzania is bordered by Kenya to the south, Uganda to the east,Zambia to the southeast, and Rwanda to the south-west. The country shares a border with Burundi to the north. The terrain is mostly hilly plateau with forested highlands in the centre and north. The climate is tropical with two seasons: a hot dry season from November to April and a wet season from May to October. The country's economy depends mainly on agriculture, tourism and mining.