East Timor

About this jurisdiction

East Timor is an Indonesian province that broke away from Indonesia in 1975 and became an independent country in 2002. The capital is Dili. East Timor is made up of predominantly mountainous terrain with some coastal plains, and it is approximately the same size as Rhode Island. East Timor is one of the most isolated countries in the world, sharing only a narrow maritime border with Indonesia's neighbor, Australia.


Legal basis