About this jurisdiction

Tunisia is a small, landlocked country located in the Middle East. It borders Algeria to the northwest, Libya to the southeast, and Egypt to the south. The country is divided into 10 governorates. Along with France, Tunisia is one of two African countries to be a member of the United Nations. Tunisian independence was declared on March 15th, 1957. The capital and largest city is Tunis. The official language is Arabic, but French is also spoken by a minority of the population. Tunisia has a diverse cultural heritage that includes its Phoenician origins, Moorish occupation, Ottoman Rule, and Italian occupation. A significant number of Tunisians are also of Turkish descent. Tourism is one of Tunisia's most important industries, accounting for more than a quarter of GDP.