About this jurisdiction

Uzbekistan is located in Central Asia and shares borders with Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Afghanistan. Officially it has a population of 32 million people, but the real figure could be much higher as many Uzbeks move around within the country for work. The capital city is Tashkent.nThe country is a republic with a president as head of state. It has a parliamentary system of government with three branches: the executive, legislative and judicial. The legal system is based on Russian law with some modifications. Uzbekistan has been an independent country since 1991.


Legal basis