About this jurisdiction

Canada is a country located in North America. It is bordered to the north by the United States of America, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean, and to the south by the United States Virgin Islands. Canada is the world's second-largest country by total area and has the world's tenth-largest population. Canadas traditional native inhabitants are the First Nations, who have inhabited Canada for thousands of years. Although French was first spoken in Quebec in the 1600s, it was not until 1763 that Quebec became a British colony. Today, Canadians are largely bilingual and proud of their cultural diversity. The official languages of Canada are English and French.