Show all

Legal basis

Jurisdiction text

Slovenia is a small, landlocked country in central Europe that was once part of Yugoslavia. The Slovenian Alps run along the eastern border with Austria and Hungary, while the Julian Alps form the national border with Italy. Slovenia has a population of about 2 million people and is divided into eleven counties. The capital city is Ljubljana. Slovenia has a parliamentary system of government and is a member of the European Union and the United Nations.